Happy Trails Adventure Cookies and scratching my head

Welp, now that the Ann Arbor Tri is all done, I’m already scratching my head, wondering what to do with myself (training and event-wise). I’m already starting to research some other triathlons and other races… If anyone have any ideas or event suggestions, please let me know in the comments section!

It was nice to go to the gym without a strict agenda; I wasn’t sore or anything this morning, so I thought I’d hop back into things with a good arm and ab workout.

Today’s Workout: 25-minute elliptical warm-up, Arms and Abs Circuit via The Lean Green Bean

I came across this workout on Pinterest, and once again, Lindsay delivered a great workout! The pushup/plank knee tuck superset was especially killer! For some reason, I really dislike ab workouts. I always blow them off at the end of a workout, but since this one incorporated the ab moves into each superset, it was much more bearable!

Onto a recipe…

Yesterday, while bumming around my apartment, I had the urge to bake something. I had come across an intriguing recipe on Angela‘s blog a little while ago, and thought it’d be a perfect time give them a go!

They’re called Happy Trails Adventure Cookies, and they’re kind of a trail mix/oatmeal cookie that happen to be vegan! Now, I’m not vegan, or vegetarian, or gluten-free, or wheat-free, or pescatarian or any other kind of -ian. I’m fortunate to be able to digest most foods with no problems, and will totally dig into a beefy burger, with cheese, with a starchy bun (on occasion).  However, I find myself eating a lot of vegetarian and vegan friendly foods and dishes, and Angela’s recipes are always delicious, regardless of what diet her recipes are designed for! Anyways, back to the cookies…

These little guys feature oats, oat flour, ground walnuts (the recipe calls for pecans, but had walnuts on hand), maple syrup and honey for a little sweetness, flax, and I mixed in sunflower seeds and dried cranberries. I like that they’re good for a post-workout snack OR a nice sweet treat. Here’s the recipe!

See the dozen or so cookies above? Yeah, half of those are gone. Woops.

Leave a Reply

